Men of Old

We men of old, we sit on a bench
We’ve drunk our wine and thirsted our quench
We men of old have tasted all things fine
We’ve loved our women and all things that shine
A bitter sweet taste comes to the mouth now
A mixed memory of all things said and done.
We’ve travelled so far, makes me wonder how?
I can see the young march so loud
They march, as they cover our tracks
Saddened yet bashfully proud
Can we linger on for a little longer?
I would like to see if I have become stronger?
Oh yes, I have; stronger than before
Stronger in my heart to see the world I lived in
Stronger in my heart to let go of my sins
Searching for peace at a place so fine
I’ll head to heaven, cause that’s where it’s been
And I can finally say to my grandchild, this peace is yours and it is mine.
Roy
Leave a Reply

